Governing Council

Structure of the Institute

The Governing Council of the Institute is the highest governance organ of the Institute and its principal policy- making arm. In this regard, it sets broad policy for the institute; approves annual work programmes and budgets, provides support for research, policy analysis and training programmes. The Council also oversees the recruitment and appointment of key management staff. Financial and policy oversight of the institute also fall under the purview of the Council. The 17-member board of the Institute has the President of the Senate as the Chairman and the Speaker of the House of Representatives as Alternate Chairman. The Members of the Council are as follows:

Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan GCON |          Femi Gbajabiamila CFR

The Governing Council

Sen. Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan, PhD, GCON

President of The Senate

Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila CFR

Speaker, House of Representatives
Alternate Chairman

Sen. Abdullahi Yahaya

Senate Leader

Sen. Saidu Alkal

Chairman, Senate Committee on Finance



Sen. Philip Aduda, MFR

Minority Whip


Sen. Solomon A. Olamilekan

Chairman, Senate Committee on Finance


Sen. Sam Egwu

Chairman, Senate Committee  on Housing


Sen. Degi W. Biobarakuma

Deputy Chairman, Senate Committee on Gas


Hon.Tajudeen Abbas

Chairman, House Comittee On Land Transport


Hon. Bashir Mashema

Deputy Chairman, Committee, Climate Change


Hon. Jimoh Olajide Abdul

Chairman, House Committee on Urban And Regional Planning


Hon. Joseph Edionwele


Hon. Ofor Gregory Chukwuegbo


Engr. Ahmed Kadi Amshi

Chairman, National Assembly Service Commission


Clerk to the National Assembly



Prof. Abubakar O Sulaiman

Director General, National Institute For Legislative and Democratic Studies
Member/ Secretary

In-House Experts

1. Sen. (Dr). Jonathan Zwingina

2. Prof. Attahiru Jega

3. Prof. Nuhu Yaqub

4. Prof. Sam Egwu

5. Prof. Shola Omotola

6. Prof. A.R Alkali

7. Rt. Hon. Ghali Umar Na’abba

8. Dr. Sam Amadi